Do I take my Knowledge Test in the classroom?
No. You will take your Knowledge Test at one of the State exam centers. At that time, you will also fill out a permit application, have your photo taken and have your vision checked. The cost of the permit is $14.25. We will give you all this information on your last class.
What is your refund policy?
All sales are final. No refunds will be issued for any reason.
Does my parent or guardian have to attend a Parent Class?
- Tips on how to help their teens become safer drivers; from their very young years through the years after licensed.
- Supervised Driving Log (handout) is a useful tool to keep track of the different driving environments, practiced skills, and number of hours of supervised driving your teens experience.
- Positive Parenting Driving Tips (handout)
- Minnesota's Graduated Driver's Licensing system
- NTW's classroom training and terminology
- NTW's behind-the-wheel program
- Advice for driving with your new student driver.
- New traffic laws and driving maneuvers.
Attendance at our distance learning Parent Class reduces the practice driving required from 50 hours to 40 hours.
Can I take more than one class a day to get done sooner?
Sorry. The Minnesota Deptartment of Public Safety determines the rules and doesn't allow more than three hours of classroom instruction per day.
If I'm late for class or need to leave early, is that okay?
We follow the State's requirements very closely. We cannot allow students into the classroom more than five minutes late. You cannot leave early from a class. If you need to miss a class for any reason, that's fine. We have plenty of opportunity for you to make up the class.
What if I can't go to every lesson in order?
That's okay! We have designed our program around busy kids. Lessons are non-sequential so you can make one up if you miss one.
How old do I have to be to start driver's ed?
You can start classroom at 14 1/2. You cannot take the Knowledge Test (also called the Permit Test) until you are 15 so by waiting closer to your 15th birthday, the information will be fresh in your mind.
Road Test & Getting a License
Can I withdraw my child's driving privileges?
Yes! The State has a Withdrawal of Parental Consent/Voluntary Surrender form to be completed if parents wish to withdraw their consent for drivers under the age of 18 to maintain a license or permit, parents wish to rescind their withdrawal of parental consent, or drivers age 18 or over wish to voluntarily cancel their own driving privileges.
Can I use a NTW car for my Road Test?
Yes, for an additional charge. Please call our office to request this service.
What do I need to take my road test?
If under 18 years old, you will need to bring your:
- Instruction Permit
- White Card (which you get from us on your third behind-the-wheel lesson)
- Parent Class Certificate of Completion, if applicable
- Supervised Driving Log
- Vehicle insurance card
- A vehicle eligible for the test. Check your driver's manual for vehicle requirements.
A parent or guardian must sign the driver's license application.
What if I don't want my child to get their driver's license until their grades or attitude improve?
We encourage you to hold your child responsible for good grades and appropriate attitude and behavior. After your child is finished with the last driving lesson, keep the White Card in a secure place until you are ready for them to test.
Do you offer home pick-up and drop-off?
No. All driving lessons begin and end at Breck High School.
Can I get extra driving lessons if I need more help?
Yes. If you are an existing student, you can purchase extra lessons. You will need to call our office so we can help you schedule the lessons.
How do I know your instructors are safe?
All our instructors are tested and fully licensed by the Minnesota Deptartment of Public Safety. They have passed FBI and BCA background checks, as well as maintain clean driving records. They are all our employees and not subcontractors. If you have any questions or concerns about who the instructor will be to give your child their lesson, please call us.
Are there other kids in the car when I take my lesson?
You will have private lessons with the instructor. If you want to ask questions, that's a great time to do it.
Do you take students downtown?
Of course! But not until your second lesson. By that time, you will have been driving for about three months. The downtown lesson is an important one. It goes over highway driving, one-way intersections, and pedestrian safety.
Do I need my permit for driving lessons?
Absolutely. You cannot legally drive without a valid Instruction Permit on you. If you have lost your permit, you should apply for a duplicate permit at any license center. Bring your identification, a parent or guardian and $14.75. You do not need to retake the Permit Test. You cannot use the white temporary permit you received when you applied for the permit since it has expired.
If the weather is bad, do you cancel driving lessons?
Our philosophy is that young drivers need to learn to drive in all driving conditions. Therefore, we do not cancel behind-the-wheel lessons unless the state recommends "no travel." That situation occurs in blizzard or ice-storm conditions. If we decide to cancel lessons due to poor conditions, we will call as early in the day as possible to reschedule the appointment. In addition, we post alerts on our home page when adverse weather threatens driving lessons. In general, unless you hear from us, plan to drive on a snowy or rainy day.
What is the Supervised Driving Log?
You must practice drive at least 50 hours, 15 at night, and the drives must be documented in a written driving log signed by the parent or guardian. Check out our resources page for links to the State Driving Log and RoadReady App.
How many hours of practice driving do I need?
You will need to practice drive at least 50 hours, 15 at night, documented in a Supervised Driving Log. If your parent attends a once a year in-person Parent Class, you can reduce your practice hours to 40 hours, 15 at night.
When should I schedule my first behind-the-wheel lesson?
When you are ready for behind-the-wheel lessons, you should register your permit number with us. Login to your account and enter your permit number. We recommend your first behind-the-wheel lesson be taken after you have done at least 5 hours of practice driving. We encourage you to start driving right away - parking lots first, then advance slowly onto quiet, residential streets. Your first lesson is a very basic driving lesson and will help you as you practice more with your parents.
Can I legally drive with my white temporary permit?
Yes. The temporary permit has an expiration of 120 days. You should receive your hard-card, photo permit in the mail before the temporary permit expires. If you do not receive your Instruction Permit within 120 days, call the telephone number on the back of the temporary permit. The Instruction Permit is valid for two years.